6 teen weeks and counting











{January 2, 2012}   Making a Healthy Start

Today's inspiration

Like many people in the start of a new year, I have resolved to get back into shape.  But this year I have made my goal more obtainable.  There isn’t a set number on the scale that I’m trying to get to or a picture of a celebrity that I want to look like.  I just want to get healthy.  Eat healthy and make exercise a consistent part of my life.  So, if you are reading this and it sounds like a goal that you had in mind for yourself, then join me on this journey.  Share with me your goals and what you are doing to get there (and maybe you’d be willing to be a guest writer on my blog, wink, wink).

To kick-start 2012, I’m going to participate in a 28 detox to get my body and health back on track.  To read up on this detox plan or to follow it yourself, click here.  I was originally going to start this plan today but I never made it to the grocery store so I’m going to tomorrow.  But I’m still going to make healthier choices today and get out on a run this morning.

As for running, I’ve never really been that great of a runner.  I had to run a lot in the military and I always was slow and griped every step of the way.  So, I know that I’m going to really be sucking wind when I get out there today.  I’ve decided to start slow and work up to longer spurts each week.  Here’s a look at what I have planned for running:

Week 1: Run one minute. Walk 90 seconds. Repeat eight times. Do three times a week. Week 2: Run two minutes. Walk one minute. Repeat seven times. Do three times a week. Week 3: Run three minutes. Walk one minute. Repeat six times. Do three times a week. Week 4: Run five minutes. Walk two minutes. Repeat four times. Do three times a week. Week 5: Run eight minutes. Walk two minutes. Repeat three times. Do three times a week. Week 6: Run twelve minutes. Walk one minute. Repeat three times. Do three times a week. Week 7: Run fifteen minutes. Walk one minute. Run fifteen minutes. Do three times a week. Week 8: Run thirty

I plan to do this at a little park near by so the kids can play while I get my run in.  Tomorrow I plan on doing some sort of class offered at the gym I go to (or am SUPPOSE to being going to).  Here’s to 2012!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
